Book Review: Lady of Ten Thousand Faces

My family and I are just about to finish up reading the Lady of Ten Thousand Faces. You can find it on Amazon. It’s a book that holds several stories, each of a Goddess from a different culture. They take a page to explain who the Goddess is before telling the story. Included in the book are Isis, Quan Yin, the White Buffalo Woman, Cerridwen, Freya, Amaterasu, Oshun, Persephone, Demeter, and Hecate.

While the book is mostly text, the few illustrations it has are beautiful.  They are done in a watercolor style. I also enjoyed that you could tell which story was which by a boarder. Each of the Goddesses has their own except for the final three as they all share a story.  Still the artwork did a great job of adding to the story as you would hope it would in a child’s book.

I would say this book is more for a child who is starting to read, but to whom you are still reading to, so probably early Elementary. However, Freya is nine months and she still enjoyed it, even if she wanted to climb on the book more than look at it.

Each of the stories was well written and easy to follow.  My only problem is that some of the stories tell an over simplified version of the story that could raise questions when I present the mythology to Freya as she gets older. I didn’t want it to go into the gruesome details, but it would have been nice if all the names in Amaterasu’s story had been the Japanese names instead of American translations. Or in Isis’s story if it had been a bit more accurate without going too gruesome.

Regardless my issues with the book are few and far in between and should probably be expected in our sugar coated world. And while I want my child to be protected from some things, I don’t feel like we need to change names or water down the story to do so.  The stories of the Goddesses are powerful and beautiful.

Still, a great book overall. Hopefully the first of many pagan children’s books that I will find and be able to endorse.  If not, I might find a new calling as a children’s book writer. Lol.  I would just have to find an illustrator. Anyway, this is still a great book for anyone beginning to teach their child about the Goddess.

I’m going to leave it as a short post today. I just wanted to share my experience with this book and recommend it to anyone looking for a good pagan children’s book.

Leave a Reply

