Things to Ponder

Today is kinda a catch all post. It’s also rather short in comparison to my normal post. I wanted to just mention a few things to think about as parents. Some of it is for expecting parents while some of the topics are things we all should be thinking about with a baby. And some of it is just things I had never thought of or known.

I was reading yet another book (The Only Baby Book You’ll Ever Need) when I found a lot of things I hadn’t thought about. So now I have a few new things to work on and some new knowledge under my belt.  Having realized that there are so many things I hadn’t considered, I thought I would highlight them for you in this post.

I’m not sure I’d want to do all of them but it’s nice to know that they exist as concerns and or options.

Hot Water

I’m a DIY girl, but I’m not good at stuff concerning the home. I’m learning, but it’s a slow and steady rather than a quick learning curve with me.  I never realized you can adjust your hot water temp.  The authors of this book recommend you turn your water heater down to 120 degrees before you even bring baby home to protect them from potential water burns. Now, this doesn’t mean you don’t still have to check the temp of baby’s bath, but it’s supposed to help prevent burns.

Cord Blood Banking

It’s supposedly worth investing in if you have the money.  This saved blood and cells can be used for a stem cell transplant if your child develops a genetic disease, blood disorder, or cancer that would normally be treated with bone marrow. I kinda wish I had known about this so I could have looked into it before Freya was born, but I’d never heard of it. This is a decision you have to make before your child is born though because the cells have to be collected right then. It can’t wait till later.

The estimated costs as of last year were $1500 to $1700….which is too rich for my blood.

A will

This is the big one I need to work on now.  While I don’t expect anything to happen to me anytime soon, you never know.  Anything can happen from an accident to a heart attack these days and you never know when it’s coming.  But I definitely want to have it set where Freya would go and how things would work out if either one or both of us passed.  I would also want to make sure that all my stuff went to her and wasn’t just sold off.

There are plenty of ways to do this without a lawyer. I would have to ask some people I know who have done it, but it is possible to do it with little to no cost.

Maternity/Paternity Leave

I know it’s a little late once you have children, but you really need to sort this out probably by around month three. Usually there is some paperwork (or a lot depending on your company) to file before your request can be filled. So don’t wait till the last minute.  If you are taking a leave make sure you plan ahead for a budget without the income. It’s hard enough on some families to lose a paycheck for the normal 2-3 weeks much less longer than that.

So just some food for thought.  Things to think about if whether you already have kids or not.

Blessed Be.

Leave a Reply

